~A Life Worth Living~

Icinia McIntosh, 123 rue Principale, Snowville, Canada A4B 5C6
_________________________________________________ 

Nov 28, 2010 

Mr Jack Sweet 
27B-6th Ave
Somewhere, UK
SW1X  7XL

Dear Jack,

Your last letter was quite intriguing. You always have plenty of questions for me, but your latest was…as me sainted Mother would say…a real doozy. Is life worth living? Hmmm… That’s the $64,000 question, isn’t it?

I suppose this is something we all ask ourselves from time to time, eh? And, I guess we all come up with different answers.

I know what your answer would be, Jack. A big resounding YES! Ha Ha. Winning the lottery certainly turned your life around. Lucky dog. By the way, how’s the Ferrari?

As for me…I ask myself that question every day. Is life worth living? Is today the day I end it all? Do I have the guts to end it all? Would anyone miss me if I DID end it all? I know you would, Jack. But, you know who I’m talking about. Would he, the heart-breaker, the shit head, miss me? The question is not that simple, really.

Aaahhh, Jack, some days I think life IS worth living. Every time I take a walk on the beach and watch those waves dash themselves against the rocks, and shatter into a million tiny drops…each time I come home from work and watch the sun rise with such promise of good things to come…every raging thunder storm reminds me of the power of the Universe… How could I deprive myself of these wonderful mysteries?

I truly don’t know the answer to your question. I suppose it depends on the day. One thing I do know…when I see your letters in my mailbox…THOSE are the days that are, indeed, worth living.

May God bless you, dear Jack.

Your friend,

Icinia
_____

~Icinia~
c 2010

About Icinia

Icinia McIntosh has been writing all of her life. One of her cherished childhood memories is the feeling of absolute joy derived from writing a story...not only the sheer pleasure of putting thoughts on paper, but the knowledge that her words would be read, and enjoyed, by others was intoxicating indeed. Today, Icinia writes mostly poetry, with the occasional foray into the realm of short stories. Icinia McIntosh was born and raised in Canada and still makes her home there.
This entry was posted in Letters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

